Content Governance

Content governance, also referred to as auto-governance or validation, is a feature that helps keep your intranet platform from becoming a content dumping ground by sending notifications to content authors and managers informing them that content is due for review. When a new piece of content is created and marked as Knowledge, it will fall into the auto-governance cycle.

The content governance feature is enabled by Application managers in the Manage > Application > Governance menu. By checking Yes in Require knowledge content review and validation, the App manager enables automatic management/validation of existing and new content after the initial publication date. The App manager can change make this time:

  • 6 months
  • 12 months (recommended)
  • 18 months
  • 24 months


content_governance_enable.gif

 

Once saved, altering the validation period should trigger a popup, allowing the user to confirm the change or cancel. This change is only truly reflected once the page is saved.


change_validation_period.png

 

Validation notifications are generated on the following schedule:

  • Four weeks before the end date, users who have permissions to edit the content (this may or may not include the author depending on whether they're a Content manager) are notified.
  • Two weeks before end date, users with edit access and App managers are notified.
  • On the end date, if content has not yet been validated, it will move to unpublished status. This does not mean the content is deleted. It is still viewable by those who have edit access. It will just be removed from visibility to your End users. You can view all unpublished content in the Manage > Content menu and sorting by "unpublished" Status. Here you can edit, validate and republish the content, resetting its validation period, or you can delete it permanently.
    manage_unpublished_content_menu.png
  • One week after end date, those with edit access are notified content has been unpublished.

 

Note:

If a page is unpublished for any reason, then republished, this resets the page's validation period. Simply editing a page does not reset the validation period.

 

Depending on the validation period set, the App manager, Site manager and Content manager will be notified via email and in-app notification that the content needs validating. 

 

FAQ and Best Practices

What happens if my org initially has Content Governance disabled, but then decides to turn it on after a lot of content has already been published? Will all that content have the same validation date?

Not necessarily. Validation dates are based on the content's initial publication date (for the first time they're validated) or last validation date. So if you publish or validate 100 pieces of content on the same day, then all that content will have the same validation date. We highly recommend leaving content governance enabled throughout your intranet's life cycle to avoid this.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Articles in this section

See more