App Management: Governance setup

Table of contents

 

To ensure content is relevant and fresh, Simpplr allows for automated content validation. We call this the auto-governance feature. With auto-governance, content authors can set a validation period when publishing content on their intranet. Then, depending on the time set, they will be reminded on a date in the future to review that content and either ensure it's still valid, or unpublish it. This ensures absolute certainty that your content throughout the intranet stays fresh and relevant.

Use this walkthrough for Simpplr Governance setup. Note that App managers are responsible for setting up governance for the organization.

To access the Governance control menu, navigate to Manage application > Governance. governance_manage_app.gif

 

Timeline & feed

The Timeline & feed allows employees to share ideas and collaborate with their colleagues. Select any of the three options, which will set precedent for feed settings throughout the application. 

  • Timeline: Automatically generated posts when content is published in site or a blog post is published.
  • Timeline & content comments: Includes timeline posts (explained above) and comments made on content.
  • Timeline & content comments & feed posts: Includes the two above options, as well as posts made in either home feed or site feed. (Recommended setting).

Track changes posts

Track changes posts automatically highlight any changes made to app or site settings (such as changing of Site owner or updating description) in the feed. By toggling this option on, you're enabling feed posts for any time there's a site- or app-wide change. Best practice is to leave this unselected. 

Home control

If you want to allow users to set up their own dashboard tiles and layout, select User. Even if home Dashboard is set to user controlled, App managers can still add content to all users’ home carousels. You can also add tiles with specific content.

If you want to control home dashboard tiles for everyone, select App manager.

If you choose a User-controlled dashboard setup you also have the option to create a default dashboard, so that all users will start with the same setup. To do this first you click on Configure home default. You'll be taken to the Defaults tab.

 

Site control

Allowing Site managers to control their own site settings gives them greater autonomy over how their site works. Select Site manager to allow Site managers to set up their site dashboards. They will see the + and gear icon on their site dashboard, so they can add/remove tiles and choose the layout they want to use for their sites.  

Select App manager to restrict Site managers from accessing the + and gear icon in site dashboard. This means an App manager will set up the site dashboard for every site.

Carousel

The carousel allows you to highlight your organization's most important updates. Select whether to enable the carousel for either home or site dashboards. If there are no items in the carousel it will not appear on the dashboard. However, this gives you a chance to completely disable it.

 

Content governance

By checking yes in Require knowledge content review and validation, the App manager enables automatic management/validation of existing and new content. The App manager can change make this time:

  • 6 months
  • 12 months (recommended)
  • 18 months
  • 24 months

mceclip0.png

 

Once saved, altering the validation period should trigger a popup, allowing the user to confirm the change or cancel. This change is only truly reflected once the page is saved.

 

mceclip2.png

 

Note:

If a page is unpublished for any reason, then republished, this resets the page's validation period. Simply editing a page does not reset the validation period.

 

Depending on the validation period set, the App manager, Site manager, Content manager and author (if given Edit permissions) will be notified via email and in-app notification that the content needs validating. 

Content submissions

Give employees a chance to contribute to the intranet by allowing them to submit content to sites. Employees can submit content to sites and Site managers/owners will need to approve it before the content goes live.

Uncheck this box if you do not want to allow employees to submit content. Only Site managers/owners will be able to create content for their own site.

 

Content feed posts

Feed allows users to post and feedback on content. If enabled, the feed can be turned off for individual pieces of content. This section gets hidden if the Feed is set to Timeline only.

New Chatter groups

Chatter groups allow collaboration in Salesforce. They also form the basis for sites. You can select whether new Chatter groups will automatically become sites within the app or not. You can also click on Configure Chatter groups, which will take you through to Manage sites > Chatter groups. From there, you can manually convert any Chatter groups that aren’t sites. 

Expertise

Adding expertise makes it easier to find the right employees. Choose the expertise settings for the organization. These settings apply to feeds, site files and content attachments. They do not apply to profile pictures, profile cover image, site images, image tiles, content cover images, content body images, album images or newsletter images.

  • Only App managers can add expertise:
    • App manager
      • Can add expertise to anyone’s profile
      • Cannot remove expertise from someone else's profile
      • Can remove expertise from own profile
    • User
      • Cannot add expertise to own or anyone else's profile
      • Cannot remove expertise from own or anyone else's profile
  • Anyone can add expertise:
      • Both App manager and user: 
        • Can add expertise to anyone’s profile
        • Cannot remove expertise from someone else's profile
        • Can remove expertise from own profile
        • Can add expertise to own or anyone else's profile
        • Can remove expertise from own or anyone else's profile

File upload permissions

The file upload permissions setting does not affect App managers. They are always able to upload files. The following choices are available (per Gorgonio release) for End users:

  • Allow all file types (across entire application) (this is the default option)
        • All users can upload all file types across the application
  • Allow image files 
      • This setting allows users to to upload image files matching .jpg .png .gif to home and site feeds, or as content attachments, but disables the ability to upload other file types
  • Allow image and video files
      • This setting allows users to upload image and video files to home or site feeds, or as content attachments
    •  
  • Disable all file types
        • This disables users' ability to upload files across the application

App managers can configure file upload permissions for Site owners/managers in addition to End users. These options include: 

  • Same as above
        • This option will give Site owners/managers the same permissions as the ones you selected for End users
  • Allow all file types in all sites
        • This gives Site owners/managers permission to upload any accepted file type to the sites they own/manage
  • Allow all file types in selected sites
        • This setting lets you (App manager) decide which sites Site owners/managers can upload files to

Public links to files

When a public link to a file is created, it can be shared with people outside of the intranet. Set whether employees can create and share a public link when sharing a file. 

  • If this feature is turned off (unchecked) all existing public links will be automatically disabled

 

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

1 comment
  • Can we clearly spell out who can validate content or is there another article that information is in?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Articles in this section

See more