I have changed my users' email address in Salesforce, but the old email address keep coming up. What happened?

If you have changed a user’s email address and the "Generate new password and notify user immediately" box is deselected, a confirmation message is sent to the new email address that you entered. The user must click the link provided in that message for the new email address to take effect. This process ensures system security.